International Relations Office of the Faculty of Law and Social Sciences

The International Relations office has a certain number of missions to deal with, decided by the Dean’s team and its bureau in accordance with the institutional policy of the University.
Its activities are performed within various networks.

International Relations Office

Under the authority of the Dean, the office is run by a professor in charge of the international relations mission and is composed of :

Jean-Pierre DIONNET, director of the International Relations' Office
Tél: 33(0)

Tél : 33(0)
Email :

Chantal JEAN
Tél : 33(0)
Email :

International Relations Office’s missions

The missions of the International Relations Office are :
  • to welcome students from the ERASMUS program or from bilateral conventions
  • to host about 15 invited professors each year
  • to offer students from the Faculty of Law and Social Sciences the chance to study in the ERASMUS program or in a bilateral convention
  • to establish dual degrees through partnerships with foreign universities
  • to follow international conventions
  • to ensure relations with the cultural services of French embassies abroad
  • to support missions of cooperation in the world

International Networks

Coimbra Group

Founded in 1985 and formally constituted by Charter in 1987, the Coimbra Group is an association of long-established European multidisciplinary universities of high international standard. The Coimbra Group is committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote, for the benefit of its members, internationalisation, academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society. It is also the purpose of the Group to influence European educational policy and to develop best practice through mutual exchange of experience.


SARFaL (the Strategic Alliance of Research Faculties of Law) is a group of research-intensive law faculties committed to facilitate and enhance international research co-operation. This includes joint research projects by senior researchers and PhD candidates, participation in joint conferences, cross-border reviews of written material, research visits abroad by senior researchers and PhD candidates, and exchange of research-oriented and talented students. At present, SARFaL consists of the Universities of Aarhus, Barcelona, Bologna, Galway, Geneva, Heidelberg, Leiden, Leuven, Oslo, Oxford, Poitiers, Prague, Uppsala and Vienna.

Université de Poitiers - 15, rue de l'Hôtel Dieu - TSA 71117 - 86073 POITIERS Cedex 9 - France - Tél : (33) (0)5 49 45 30 00 - Fax : (33) (0)5 49 45 30 50 -